Nevada 5 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit
This notice is used to inform the Nevada tenant to either pay the rent or move out.
Document Last Modified: 10/5/2018
Using The Nevada 5 Day Notice To Pay Rent Or Quit
The use of the 5 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit form is incredibly straightforward. This form can only be used in a case when a tenant is behind on their rent. Any non-payment of rent warrants the use of this notice and the resulting legal proceedings should the tenant refuse to comply.
This notice cannot be used for any other kind of violation of the lease agreement that has been made.
How It Works
Once the tenant has not paid their rent, a landlord can then give this notice. This notice states that they must pay the amount owed or vacate the property within the 5-day period or the landlord will have the right to file for a hearing in court. If this hearing moves forward because the tenant has not complied and the landlord has followed the appropriate legal procedures then chances are high that the landlord will receive favor in court. If this happens then the tenant will be forcibly removed from the property with the assistance of local authorities.
For more information about the eviction process from our experts at EZLandlord Forms, please visit:Move out and Eviction
Timing Is Everything
From the time that a landlord gives this notice to a tenant, they must wait 5 days before going ahead with the legal processes. This is incredibly important as it gives the tenant the chance to pay the amount owed or leave before entering into a costly court hearing.
This is also important for the landlord to remember to ensure that they have done everything needed and have followed the legal avenues to ensure the desired results in court.
Legal information and specific landlord laws in Nevada can be found at: http://nvcourts.gov/
Ways To Serve The Notice
- The 5 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit form allows for the landlord to serve the notice to the tenant in three different ways.
- Deliver the notice personally to the tenant and acquire their signature.
- Leaving a copy with another resident at the property of a suitable age.
- Posting a copy in an obvious place at the property.
To start the 5 Day period and ensure the tenant is aware of the situation, we recommend delivering the notice directly to the tenant.
#1 Rated Lease Agreement
9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews
Choose one-time or subscription billing
So you know you're complying with state laws
Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!
Edit & print any of our forms with pro access
Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers