Oregon 30 Day Termination Notice - Cause
Pro Form: Create a Pro Account to access this form
The Oregon 30-Day Termination Notice for Cause is used when a Tenant has materially violated the Lease Agreement. When applicable, it gives the Tenant at least 14 days to cure the violation or have the Lease terminated in 30 days.
Document Last Modified: 5/8/2023
Oregon Lease Termination: For Cause
When an Oregon Tenant has materially violated the Lease Agreement, Landlords can provide them with a 30-Day Notice to terminate the Rental Agreement. Oregon Revised Statute 90.392 provides that the Notice must:
- Specify the Lease violation(s);
- Provide the date the Lease will terminate; and
- If the Lease can be cured, provide the date by which it must be cured.
When a Lease violation can be cured, the Tenant must be given at least 14 days from the date of the Notice to cure the violation. If the Tenant does not cure, the Lease Agreement will terminate on the date specified in the Notice.
- If the Lease violation is one that’s substantially the same as a previous violation that the Tenant received notice about within the last 6 months, the Tenant does not have a right to cure and the notice period is 10 days.
- While the 30-day notice can be used for failure to pay rent, there are also shorter notice periods for unpaid rent. On the fifth day that rent is late, Landlords may provide Tenants with a 144 Hours’ Notice to Pay Rent, and on the eighth day that rent is late, Landlords can issue a 72 Hours’ Notice to Pay Rent.
Our Oregon 30-Day Termination Notice - Cause complies with all Oregon Notice requirements and can be customized online in about 5 minutes.
Oregon Rental Forms and Template
- Oregon Rental Application Addendum and Fees Disclosure: Oregon Landlords are required to disclose estimated rent, all deposits, and any fees before collecting a deposit to reserve a rental unit.
- Oregon Termination Notice for Repeat Violation: This Notice should be used for Tenants that repeatedly commit the same Lease violation.
- Oregon 30 Day Termination Notice - Cause: This form is used to notify Tenants of a Lease violation and to give them 30 days to cure the violation or face eviction proceedings.
- Oregon 72 Hour Demand for Rent: This Notice should be used when the Tenant is at least 7 days late with a rent payment. This is a required step before initiating eviction proceedings.
- Oregon Landlord’s Guide to No Smoking Policies: This resource provides Landlords with information about creating a no-smoking policy for their rental unit.
- Portland 90-Day Notice of Rent Increase: This form is required for rent increases of more than 5%. Tenants must be notified of any such increase 90 days before the increase goes into effect.
Don’t see the form you need? Don’t worry - we have over 400 more!
Pro Tip: Landlords need lots of forms. We have tools and resources for the entire Landlord Lifecycle - from a Rental Application to move-out forms.
Make your life EZ by getting access to them all.