Missouri 10-Day Demand for Possession
Serve this Missouri 10-day eviction notice when the tenant has violated the lease agreement, as a prerequisite for filing eviction in court.
Document Last Modified: 5/11/2023
What Is The Missouri 10-Day Demand For Possession Notice?
When a tenant has violated the lease agreement they have made with the landlord, the landlord has the right to take action and begin the process of removing the tenant from the property to regain control. This form details the violation that has been made as well as inform the tenant of the proceedings. From the time this form is given to the tenant, they have 30 days to vacate the property or further legal action will be taken.
The Most Important Tip For Landlords
Using this form is the best way for a landlord to regain control of their property. A landlord should never employ unconventional or intimidation tactics in order to remove a tenant from the property. Using this form is the best way to ensure that the law is and stays on the side of the person that owns or manages the property.
Delivering The Notice
There are only a few ways that a landlord can deliver this notice to prove that they have done so if the case needs to be heard in court.
- The notice includes:
- The date it is served,
- The name of the tenant,
- The address of the property in question the contact details of the landlord,
- Details about the violation,
- Details about the proceedings,
- And details of how the notice was served.
The 10-Day Demand For Possession notice can be served by the landlord personally to the tenant. At that time, the tenant is required to sign the form to acknowledge that they have received the notice. The landlord could alternatively give the notice by hand to another resident living at the property that is over the age of 15. If this method is used then the person that receives the notice must sign instead.
The Time It Takes
From the time that the notice is delivered as per the date on the notice form that both the landlord and the tenant have signed, the tenant has 10 days to vacate the property. If this does not happen, then the landlord must wait these 10 days before filing for a formal hearing in court to proceed with an eviction.
For more information about the steps of an eviction and advice for landlords, you can read more at: Move out and Eviction
Details about Missouri landlord laws can be found by visiting: Landlord Tenant Law in Missouri
Missouri Rental Forms and Templates
- Missouri 10-Day Demand for Possession:This form should be used if the Tenant is in violation of the Lease Agreement. It’s a necessary first step before filing for eviction.
- Missouri Demand for Rent:This form should be given to Tenants that break the Lease by being late with rent payments. This is a required first step before initiating eviction proceedings.
- Missouri Abandoned Property Notice:If rent is past due for at least 30 days, Landlords may serve a Tenant with this Notice, stating that the Landlord considers the property abandoned. If the Tenant does not reply within 10 days stating that the property is not abandoned, the Landlord or property manager may enter the property and begin preparing it to be rented by new Tenants.
- Missouri Methamphetamine/Controlled Substance Disclosure: This disclosure is required if a property has ever been used as a Methamphetamine Lab or if the Landlord has any knowledge that the property has been used for Meth production.
- Missouri Landlord-Tenant Pamphlet:This resource outlines Landlord and Tenant rights in the state of Missouri.
Don’t see the form you need?
Pro Tip: Having access to all the necessary forms makes life EZ for Landlords. Become a Pro Member to get complete access to our library of over 450 Landlord forms!
#1 Rated Lease Agreement
9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews
Choose one-time or subscription billing
So you know you're complying with state laws
Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!
Edit & print any of our forms with pro access
Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers