Mississippi 30-Day Notice to Quit
Pro Form: Create a Pro Account to access this form
Use the 30-Day Notice to Quit as notification for your tenant to comply with the lease terms, or give up possession before eviction proceedings are initiated.
Document Last Modified: 7/12/2023
Using The 30-Day Notice To Quit
Whether there have been many issues with a tenant or this is a first time violation, the landlord has the right to begin the eviction process if the tenant has violated the lease agreement for reasons other than non-payment of rent.
This can include:
- Damaging the property,
- Having unauthorized animals or residents living at the property,
- Not maintaining the required health and safety standards.
These are only some examples of lease agreement violations. The issues with a specific tenant and the use of this form can only be determined for their specific lease.
How To Use This Form
Once a landlord has evidence that the lease agreement has been broken by the tenant they can deliver the notice to the tenant. The landlord must then wait 30 days from the time the tenant receives the notice before filing for formal eviction proceedings in court. The landlord will only need to file such forms if the tenant does not vacate the property within the given time.
If the case is heard in court, a judge will make a ruling. If the landlord has followed the appropriate procedures then the ruling will generally be made on their side. If the landlord used intimidation techniques or methods then the ruling may be made differently.
If the judge rules on the side of the landlord then a date will be set with the local authorities for the tenant to be evicted from the property and for the control of the property to be restored to the landlord.
For more details about this process or tips for landlords, check out: Move Out and Eviction
What Is Included In The Form
The information in this form essentially provides the evidence that it was given to the right tenant, on the designated day and is clear about what is expected of them.
This form in particular includes:
- The date the notice is served,
- The tenant in possession of the property,
- The address of the leased property,
- The violation that has been made,
- Instructions that the tenant needs to leave within 30 days,
- The name and signature of the landlord.
If you would like to know more about the rules and landlord laws in Mississippi, please visit: Landlord Tenant Law in Mississippi
Mississippi Rental Forms & Templates
The Lease is just one of many forms Landlords need. That’s why we have over 400 property management forms covering the entire Landlord Lifecycle.
- Rental Application: Our Free Rental Application makes it EZ for Landlords to gather important information about Tenants and start a complete Tenant Screening.
Pro Tip: Thorough Tenant Screening should include a credit report, ResidentScore, criminal history background report, and eviction history report. View sample reports or start your screening here.
- Move-In/Move-Out Walkthrough Checklist: Document the condition of your rental unit at move-in and move-out using this customizable checklist. This is a must if you collect a security deposit!
- Tenant Welcome Letter: Customize this letter to share important information about your rental unit with your renters.
- Rent Ledger: Stay up to date with all rental payments and ensure you have adequate documentation in the event Tenants miss a payment.
- Mississippi 3-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Vacate: This notice should be used when Tenants are late with rent. It’s a necessary first step in the eviction process.
- Mississippi 30-Day Notice to Quit: This notice should be used for Lease violations other than nonpayment of rent. It’s a necessary first step in the eviction process.
Need another form? We have over 400 property management forms on our site!