Louisiana 10 Day Notice to Vacate
The Louisiana 10 Day Notice is used when a landlord has a month-to-month lease, or does not have a written lease before evicting a tenant for any reason.
Document Last Modified: 1/31/2020
This is a 10-day notice to be used when a landlord has a month-to-month lease, or does not have a written lease and needs to evict the tenant for any reason.
Who: If you are a landlord with a tenant who has no lease agreement at all, or who is on a month-to-month lease, this form must be provided by you to the tenant if you intend to evict them for any reason.
What: This notice tells the tenant that they have 10 days to vacate the property. If they fail to do so during the allotted time, eviction proceedings will be initiated.
- It’s important to include some specific information on the notice, as well. This includes the following:
- Date of notice
- Name of the tenant
- Street address/location of the rental property in question
- The specific reasons you will not be renewing the tenant’s lease (note that you do not have to disclose these reasons if you wish not to do so)
- Your name
- The date of service
- The method of service (hand delivered, copy left at the property or copy posted at the property)
When: You need to provide a copy of this form to the tenant 10 days before the date they need to vacate the property. Note that it’s recommended you provide a copy to the tenant in person (and have them sign that they received it). If you cannot leave it with the tenant, the second best option is another adult living at the property. You can also leave a copy posted somewhere visible, such as the front door.
- Sample Louisiana Lease Agreement
- Louisiana’s Law Summary
- Further Reading: Move Out & Eviction Articles
Tips and Tricks for Landlords: There are a few tips you should know here. First and most important – you don’t have to provide the reason that you’re not renewing the tenant’s lease unless you desire to do so. The same applies to the tenant – they’re not required to provide a reason for leaving.
If you’re evicting the tenant due to nonpayment of rent, understand that even if they pay rent after the due date, you can still evict and you are not required to accept their payment. With that being said, you lose your right to evict the tenant if you accept their late rent payment after you’ve filed this notice (even if you only accept a portion of the late rent).
Louisiana Landlord Tenant Law and RegulationsView Article >
#1 Rated Lease Agreement
9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews
No Recurring Billing
No automatic charges or monthly billing
So you know you're complying with state laws
Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!
Edit & print any of our forms with pro access
Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers