New Jersey Window Guard Disclosure
Pro Form: Create a Pro Account to access this form
This Window Guard Disclosure is used to verify that the New Jersey tenant received the window guard notification verbally.
Document Last Modified: 5/2/2023
Protecting children is important. Making sure the child’s living quarters is important lays mostly within the parent’s responsibility, however a landlord shares the burden when it concerns the rental property. On July 31, 2006 Governor Corzine, the former Governor of New Jersey signed into law the “Child Protection Window Guard Law”. This law is named after three children from the state of New Jersey who lost their lives because of falling from windows.
Many children are hurt and worse some even die from falling from windows. Although a law was put in place in 1995 which required the landlord to install window guards at the request of a tenant, these falling accidents were still occurring. Hence the new law was created and signed into law, creating additional safe-guards. There are now specifics regarding window stops, how the guard may be installed, and who will install these and when they must be installed.
Under the new law, owners of multiple rental units are mandated upon written request by the tenant to furnish, install and maintain window guards on public hallways in addition to the rental unit of any tenant with a child that is ten years old or younger who resides in the apartment or who visits regularly for a considerable amount of time.
This very important “New Jersey Window Guard Disclosure” conforms to the disclosure requirements of the law. The “ezLandlordforms’ New Jersey Window Guard Disclosure” will be provided at the beginning of the Lease, and annually thereafter.
This form will be included in the lease package. A landlord would use this form when he rents an apartment of defined specifications and when the tenants have a child 10 or under, or a child 10 years of age or younger who is frequently present in the residence.
Important Notice: Landlord must also verbally notify the tenant of this requirement.
More information may be found at: LSNJLaw.org
New Jersey Rental Forms and Templates
- New Jersey Lease Agreement: This state-specific Lease is customizable and includes NJ laws.
- New Jersey Security Deposit Receipt Disclosure: This disclosure is required any time a NJ Landlord collects a security deposit from Tenants. It documents where the deposit is held and the interest it’s accruing.
- Rent Ledger: This form makes it EZ for Landlords to keep track of all rental payments. Should a Tenant ever be late with a rent payment, this form provides key documentation for Landlords.
- New Jersey 3 Day Notice to Quit: If a Tenant causes property damage or gets a disorderly conduct violation, this is the Notice Landlords should use to initiate eviction proceedings.
- New Jersey 30 Day Notice to Quit: This Notice should be used any time Tenants violate the Lease Agreement for reasons other than non-payment of rent.
- New Jersey Notice to Cease: In certain circumstances, this Notice should be provided to Tenants before the Notice to Quit.
- New Jersey Abandoned Property Notice: If a Tenant vacates or abandons a rental property and leaves property behind, this Notice should be used. It advises a Tenant that property will be stored for 30 days and then, if not claimed, sold or otherwise disposed of.
- New Jersey Eviction Law: New Jersey eviction law is complicated. This resource provides Landlords with all key eviction information.