New Jersey 30 Day Notice to Quit
Pro Form: Create a Pro Account to access this form
This New Jersey 30 day eviction notice is served when the renter has violated the lease agreement other than non-payment of rent, before filing an eviction.
Document Last Modified: 9/14/2023
New Jersey 30 Day Notice to Quit
If you have a tenant in a rental property in New Jersey who has violated your rules and regulations and/or is in violation of the terms of your lease or rental agreement, you may serve them this 30 Day Notice to Quit before proceeding with the eviction process. After a Notice to Cease has been served and no steps have been taken on the part of the tenant to cease violation of the lease or rental agreement, this Notice to Quit gives the tenant a period of 30 days to vacate the property to avoid eviction.
Who: The landlord (or an independent third party representing the landlord) will serve this New Jersey 30 Day Notice to Quit to a tenant who is in violation of the terms of the lease and/or the landlord’s rules and regulations for the property.
What: The New Jersey 30 Day Notice to Quit serves to warn the tenant that they have a fixed period of time (30 days) to vacate the premises before facing eviction. If the tenant refuses to leave after this time, the landlord may file for eviction with the State of New Jersey.
When: You must serve this notice to your tenant a minimum of 30 days before you file for eviction with the State of New Jersey. You must also have already served your tenant with a Notice to Cease before serving the Notice to Quit. If you do not serve the Notice to Cease first, the 30 Day Notice to Quit will not be legally binding and cannot be upheld in court.
To ensure that your New Jersey 30 Day Notice to Quit is legally binding and that it will allow you to continue with eviction proceedings after the end of the stated 30 days, you must properly serve the notice to your tenant. In New Jersey, you may do this by sending it through regular or certified mail, delivering it in person, posting it on the front door of the property, or having an independent third party deliver it and collect a signed copy for you. The latter option is usually the most efficient and best way to ensure that you can start the eviction process if the tenant refuses to leave.
- New Jersey Notice to Cease
- New Jersey 3 Day Notice to Quit
- Judiciary Information for New Jersey Landlords
- Sample New Jersey Lease Agreement
- New Jersey 30 Day Notice to Quit
- Judiciary Information for Landlords in New Jersey
- New Jersey Lease Agreement: This state-specific Lease is customizable and includes NJ laws.
- New Jersey Security Deposit Receipt Disclosure: This disclosure is required any time a NJ Landlord collects a security deposit from Tenants. It documents where the deposit is held and the interest it’s accruing.
- Rent Ledger: This form makes it EZ for Landlords to keep track of all rental payments. Should a Tenant ever be late with a rent payment, this form provides key documentation for Landlords.
- New Jersey 3 Day Notice to Quit: If a Tenant causes property damage or gets a disorderly conduct violation, this is the Notice Landlords should use to initiate eviction proceedings.
- New Jersey 30 Day Notice to Quit: This Notice should be used any time Tenants violate the Lease Agreement for reasons other than non-payment of rent.
- New Jersey Notice to Cease: In certain circumstances, this Notice should be provided to Tenants before the Notice to Quit.
- New Jersey Abandoned Property Notice: If a Tenant vacates or abandons a rental property and leaves property behind, this Notice should be used. It advises a Tenant that property will be stored for 30 days and then, if not claimed, sold or otherwise disposed of.
- New Jersey Eviction Law: New Jersey eviction law is complicated. This resource provides Landlords with all key eviction information.