Kansas 10 Day Notice to Vacate for Non-Payment of Rent

5 Stars

In the State of Kansas, a 10-day notice is issued to a tenant who has not paid rent for a period more than 3 months. The tenant as 10 days to pay or vacate.

Document Last Modified: 5/19/2021

Document Features

Editable

Auto-Fill Document

State-Specific

Related Documents


In the State of Kansas, a 10-day notice is issued to a tenant who has not paid rent for a period more than 3months. The landlord begins the process to take legal course of action by issuing the notice. Tenant(s) have 10 days to pay rent arrears or face eviction proceedings.

Landlords are allowed to give notice immediately after the sanctioned grace period to pay arrears expires. The next step is forcible detainer eviction by the law. Landlord-enforced eviction or other methods like cutting off water supply can create compassionate grounds in favor of the tenant.

    The notice contains the following essential components:
  • Notification giving the tenant 10 days to vacate and surrender possession of leased property or pay rent in full. Address and date on which rent arrears are due must be mentioned.
  • Clear indication of tenancy termination for non-payment of rent, in case the tenant is unable to pay rent arrears in full.
  • Clear indication of legal action leading to eviction, if the tenant does not vacate or surrender the leased property.
  • A signed declaration by the landlord certifying Service of Notice was made with names of tenants, date when notice was served, and method used to serve it. For example, Service of Notice can be sent via certified mail with a request for return receipt, hand delivered with the tenant’s signature, posted on the door, regular mail, or left at the premises (slipped under the door).
    Pointers For Landlords
  • Notice must be issued as soon as the grace period expires to file an eviction suit.
  • If a tenant is not personally served the 10-day notice, an additional two days must be given to pay rent arrears. Holidays and weekends must also be considered within the notice period.
  • Laws and Regulations for Landlords and Tenants in Kansas. Offer comprehensive information on the topic.

What Follows

The landlord completes the essential step before filing a summons and petition issued by a court of law for forcible detainer. A hearing takes place 3 to 14 days after the summons and petition was filed.

The sheriff serves the legal document advising the tenant of location, place, and time of hearing. The tenant is legally bound to attend the preliminary hearing or docket call, and both parties have a chance to amicably settle the issue.

If an amicable result is not possible, a trial is held within 8 days of the preliminary hearing.

Why ezLandlordForms?

#1 Rated Lease Agreement

9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews

Flexible Billing

Choose one-time or subscription billing

State Assist

So you know you're complying with state laws

Full Support

Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!

Unlimited Access

Edit & print any of our forms with pro access

Satisfaction Guarantee

Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers

FEATURED ON

fox-business-logo CBS-Radio-logo MSNBC-logo CNN-Money-logo Wall-Street-Journal-logo
Call us: 1-877-367-6771
We are available 7 days a week to answer your
questions and to receive your feedback

ezLandlordForms products and services are reviewed and approved by attorneys, accountants, fellow landlords, or industry experts.

ezLandlordForms is not a law firm and our products and services are not a substitute for the advice of an attorney.

Copyright © 2006-2022, ezLandlord, Inc. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | ezLandlordForms Affiliate Program

Version: 1.1516.0