Tennessee 7 Day Notice to Vacate
Pro Form: Create a Pro Account to access this form
Use the Tennessee 7 Day Notice to Vacate on a tenant who has re-offended within 6 months of an offense where the notice was previously given.
Document Last Modified: 5/14/2023
Mr. Tenant pays his late rent. Mr. Landlord sends out the proper fourteen-day notice. On the tenth day, Mr. Tenant pays up. Mr. Landlord then must withdraw any furtherance of legal remedies. Next month comes, Mr. Tenant pays on time. Mr. Landlord is elated. Mr. Tenant pays on time for the next month as well. But on the fifth month, after that notice was sent for non-payment, Mr. Tenant is late again.
The ezLandlordForms 7 Day Notice to Vacate to the rescue!
Prior to November 1, 2014, the landlord was to provide a fourteen-day notice. However, it is now only seven (7) days. This is much better for the landlord. Unfortunately, repeat offenders are a reality when it comes to managing properties and receiving rent. With this 7 day notice, the landlord may go to court and file the Forcible Entry and Detainer also referred to as the FED after only 7 days. This would be for non-payers or any tenant who breaches the lease or landlord tenant law after being properly forewarned.
Tennessee’s Uniform Residential Landlord Tenant Act which provides the guidelines for landlords and tenants is applicable for the counties listed below. Please check with your county housing office or courthouse to see if your locale is under the Tennessee Uniform Residential Landlord Tenant Act or URLTA if it is not listed below.
At that time those counties were: Wilson, Anderson, Shelby, Blount, Maury, Bradley, Knox, Davidson, Madison, Montgomery,Hamilton, Sevier, and Sumner. During the 2008 census, additional counties were added, specifically: Rutherford, Sullivan, Williamson, and Washington.
After seven (7) days have elapsed, the landlord many go to the local county courthouse, pay the fee and initiate the proceeds for a Forcible Entry and Detainer (FED) action.
Tennessee Rental Forms and Templates
- Tennessee 30-Day Notice to Cure or Vacate: This Notice should be used for Tenants that violate the Lease Agreement for non-payment of rent or for other Lease violations. It warns that renters have 14 days to cure the Lease violation. If they do not, they need to vacate or face eviction. This Notice is a necessary first step in the eviction process.
- Tennessee 14-Day Notice to Pay or Vacate: This Notice is for Tenants with unpaid rent. It gives Tenants 14 days to get up to date with rent or face eviction.
- Tennessee 3-Day Notice to Vacate for Dangerous Behavior: This form should be used for Tenants that engage in dangerous criminal activity or other dangerous activities that put other Tenants, neighbors, or the property at risk.
- Tennessee 7-Day Notice to Vacate: This form should be used for Tenants that have already received a Notice to Cure a Lease Violation or for Tenants that have violated the Lease Agreement for the second time within 6 months.
- Tennessee Landlord and Tenant Act Consumer Information: This resource summarizes key aspects of the TN Landlord-Tenant Act and outlines the rights of Landlords and Tenants.
Don’t see the form you need? Search our complete library of over 450 forms!
When an issue arises, it’s good to know you’ve got the right form to deal with it.