Tennessee 14 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate
Pro Form: Create a Pro Account to access this form
The Tennessee 14 Day Notice is an eviction notice that gives tenants fourteen days to pay the past due rent or vacate the premises.
Document Last Modified: 5/14/2023
In Tennessee, leases may contain a “waiver of default notice” which is language that tells the tenant that if they breach the lease, no notice must be provided. Prior to November 1, 2014, when a tenant has failed to meet the rental obligations or poses a threat to health and safety; the landlord would provide written notice that if the breach were not fixed within fourteen days, the tenant would have to move out of the rental unit on the thirtieth day.
NOW, only FOURTEEN days is given, therefore, if the tenant does not pay the past due rent, that tenant now has only 14 days to move out or face the legal road to eviction. This legal avenue is called the Forcible Entry and Detainer aka FED. Generally you may start counting out those 14 days the day after the tenant is late with the rent. Check with your local courthouse or with an attorney for the specifics.
Servicing your notice is best handled via personal service. However, if that is not possible, tacking the notice to the tenant’s door is acceptable. It cannot hurt to follow this up with a mailing of the notice but only mailing is not usually accepted as a means of proper service.
Once those fourteen days are over, march yourself to your local courthouse and pay the fee determined by your local court to initiate proceedings as quick as possible.
Tennessee Rental Forms and Templates
- Tennessee 30-Day Notice to Cure or Vacate: This Notice should be used for Tenants that violate the Lease Agreement for non-payment of rent or for other Lease violations. It warns that renters have 14 days to cure the Lease violation. If they do not, they need to vacate or face eviction. This Notice is a necessary first step in the eviction process.
- Tennessee 14-Day Notice to Pay or Vacate: This Notice is for Tenants with unpaid rent. It gives Tenants 14 days to get up to date with rent or face eviction.
- Tennessee 3-Day Notice to Vacate for Dangerous Behavior: This form should be used for Tenants that engage in dangerous criminal activity or other dangerous activities that put other Tenants, neighbors, or the property at risk.
- Tennessee 7-Day Notice to Vacate: This form should be used for Tenants that have already received a Notice to Cure a Lease Violation or for Tenants that have violated the Lease Agreement for the second time within 6 months.
- Tennessee Landlord and Tenant Act Consumer Information: This resource summarizes key aspects of the TN Landlord-Tenant Act and outlines the rights of Landlords and Tenants.
Don’t see the form you need? Search our complete library of over 450 forms!
When an issue arises, it’s good to know you’ve got the right form to deal with it.