New Hampshire Eviction Notice

Serve this New Hampshire eviction notice on tenants before filing an eviction for breaches of the lease agreement other than non-payment of rent.

Document Last Modified: 2/17/2020

Document Features

State-Specific

Related Documents


Giving notice is the first step in the eviction process. In New Hampshire, a landlord may end the lease agreement if the tenant has violated the terms of the lease, for instance failing to pay rent on time, among other violations. To end the agreement, the landlord must send the tenant a notice to quit the premises. This notice to quit is titled the New Hampshire Eviction Notice. It gives the tenant 7 days to move out of the rental property.

This form must be downloaded and filled out by the landlord. Be sure that the tenant name, address and other information is accurate and matches the information in the lease agreement. Specify the cause for eviction in the appropriate section. If nonpayment of rent is the cause for eviction, specify the amount of rent that is owed and the period of time for which the back rent is due. The last section of the form must be filled out by the person who will serve the notice on the tenant.

The Eviction Notice may be served in person. It also may be left at the rental unit if it is known that the tenant is still living there, or at an address where the tenant is known to live. If the rental is a commercial property, the notice may be served at the property, however, a copy of the notice must also be mailed by certified mail to the tenant’s last known address. Make copies of the Eviction Notice for your records and to have available for any future legal action.

    Under New Hampshire law, these reasons are among lease violations for which the Eviction Notice may be used:
  • Nonpayment of rent
  • Substantial damage to a rental unit by the tenant, members of his or her household, or guests of the tenant
  • Tenant fails to follow lease terms
  • Tenant or household member behaves in a way that adversely impacts the welfare or safety of other tenants, the landlord or the landlord’s agents.

If the Eviction Notice deadline has passed and the tenant has not moved out of the rental unit, the landlord may take copies of the Eviction Notice and other notices that were served on the tenant to the court in the town where the rental property is located. Court staff can provide the landlord with forms needed to prepare a legal complaint to seek possession of the rental unit.

For more information on New Hampshire landlord tenant guidelines, go to http://www.courts.state.nh.us/district/landlord.htm

Why ezLandlordForms?

#1 Rated Lease Agreement

9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews

Flexible Billing

Choose one-time or subscription billing

State Assist

So you know you're complying with state laws

Full Support

Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!

Unlimited Access

Edit & print any of our forms with pro access

Satisfaction Guarantee

Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers

FEATURED ON

fox-business-logo CBS-Radio-logo MSNBC-logo CNN-Money-logo Wall-Street-Journal-logo
Call us: 1-877-367-6771
We are available 7 days a week to answer your
questions and to receive your feedback

ezLandlordForms products and services are reviewed and approved by attorneys, accountants, fellow landlords, or industry experts.

ezLandlordForms is not a law firm and our products and services are not a substitute for the advice of an attorney.

Copyright © 2006-2022, ezLandlord, Inc. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | ezLandlordForms Affiliate Program

Version: 1.1516.0