Maine 7 Day Notice to Vacate
The Maine 7 Day Notice to Vacate is used when the landlord has a legitimate legal reason, that is for any violation EXCEPT non-payment of rent, for eviction.
Document Last Modified: 5/11/2023
This notice is used when the landlord has a legitimate legal reason for eviction other than nonpayment of rent.
The tenancy may be terminated by the landlord with 7 days’ notice in writing given to the tenant, in the event that the landlord can show, by affirmative process, that the tenant, the tenant’s family or an invitee of the tenant:
- Caused substantial damage to the premises that has not been repaired or has no cause to be repaired before the giving of notice
- Has caused or permitted a nuisance within the premises
- Permitted an invitee to cause the dwelling to become unfit for human habitation
- Has violated or permitted a violation of the law regarding the tenancy
Who: This notice must be completed by the landlord (you) and delivered to the tenant. It can only be served in instances when the violation in question is not related to nonpayment of the rent. If the tenant is behind on the rent, then you will need to complete and serve him/her a 7-day demand for rent.
What: This notice is designed for use by landlords seeking eviction on the grounds that a tenant/family member/guest violated the terms in a lease agreement (other than nonpayment of rent). Essentially, the notice tells your tenants that they need to vacate the premises within 7 days or the eviction process will begin. The notice must include the following:
- Date of the notice
- Tenant’s name
- Property address
- The nature of the violation
- Your signature (landlord)
When: This notice must be provided to the tenant a full 7 business days before you file for eviction in a court of law. Note that holidays and weekends do not count in this total.
- Sample Maine Lease Agreement
- Maine’s Law Summary
- Further Reading: Move Out & Eviction Articles
Tips and Tricks for Landlords:
Note that you can serve the notice to your tenant in several ways. It’s recommended that you mail it to them, with a certified return receipt. If you go this route, you’ll need to add another 3 days before you can file for eviction. You can also hand deliver it, leave a copy at the premises, or post it at the premises.
Make sure to keep a copy of this notice for yourself, as you’ll need to attach it with the eviction paperwork when you file with the court.
Maine State Specific Documents
- Maine 7-Day Demand for Rent: Landlords should use this Notice if Tenants are at least 7 days late with rent. It advises the Tenant that they have 7 days to either pay rent or vacate the property. It’s a necessary first step in the eviction process.
- Maine 7-Day Notice to Vacate: This Notice should be used when Tenants have violated the Lease Agreement and the Lease violation cannot be cured. It’s a necessary first step in the eviction process.
- Maine 30-Day Notice to Terminate Tenancy: This Notice should be used to terminate a tenancy at will.
- Maine Complaint for Forcible Entry & Detainer: After providing Tenants with proper notice, Landlords file this Complaint with their local court to start the eviction process.
Pro Tip: Landlords need a state specific Lease Agreement for every rental unit. But don’t worry, we’ve got state-specific Lease Agreements for all states that are guaranteed to comply with your state’s Lease laws.
Maine Landlord Tenant Law and RegulationsView Article >
#1 Rated Lease Agreement
9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews
Choose one-time or subscription billing
So you know you're complying with state laws
Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!
Edit & print any of our forms with pro access
Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers