Maine 30 Day Notice to Terminate Tenancy
This Maine 30 Day Notice may be used to evict a tenant for almost any reason, or no reason at all, but not for retaliation or discrimination.
Document Last Modified: 5/19/2021
This notice is used to evict a tenant for almost any reason, including no reason, with the exceptions of retaliation and discrimination. This notice pertains to “tenancies at will”, which must be terminated by either the landlord or the tenant with a 30-day written notice. If you (the landlord) or your agent has made a minimum of three “good faith” efforts to serve the notice to the tenant, you can mail the notice to the tenant’s last known address and by leaving a copy at their “usual place of abode”.
Giving a 30-day notice to terminate tenancy is the first step in the eviction process. It can be used for a wide range of reasons, or for no specific reason.
Who: Landlords (you) should complete and serve this notice to any tenant you wish to vacate the premises. It’s primarily associated with at-will tenancies. Note that if a tenant decides to leave without you starting the eviction process, they must provide you with the same 30-day notice.
What: If you want to terminate a tenant’s stay in your property, you’ll need to complete and deliver this notice. The required information on the form includes:
- The tenant’s name
- Your name
- The location of the property (street address, city and county)
- The last day the tenant can remain in the property
- The date of the notice
- Your signature
- The day, month and year
- The name of the person served
- The delivery method (by hand, in person to another adult at the property or by posting it at the property after 3 attempts to deliver in person)
- The name of the person serving the notice
When: You cannot serve this notice before the last day for which the tenant has paid rent. For instance, if rent is paid through the end of June, you cannot serve this notice before June 30th. It can be served at any point after the last day for which rent has been paid.
- Sample Maine Lease Agreement
- Maine’s Law Summary
- Further Reading: Move Out & Eviction Articles
Tips and Tricks for Landlords:
The 30-day notice to terminate tenancy does not require a reason for the termination. It can be for any reason or for no reason.
The notice isn’t affected by receiving money for rent after the date of service (unless you opt to suspend the notice).
Unless the tenant has paid rent after the notice was served, they are subject to the process of Forcible Entry and Detainer without notice. No proof of relation between the landlord and tenant is required in this situation, either.
Maine Landlord Tenant Law and RegulationsView Article >
#1 Rated Lease Agreement
9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews
Choose one-time or subscription billing
So you know you're complying with state laws
Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!
Edit & print any of our forms with pro access
Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers