Maine 7 Day Demand for Rent
This is first step in the eviction process and used when a tenant is at least 7 days behind on rent. Use this notice if you wish to file for an eviction.
Document Last Modified: 5/11/2023
The 7-day notice is used when a tenant is at least 7 days behind on rent and the landlord wishes to file for an eviction. Providing your tenant with this notice is the first step in the eviction process. The state of Maine also requires this notice for nonpayment of rent.
Who: This notice should be completed by you (the landlord) and delivered to the tenant when they fall 7 days behind on the rent and you want to move forward with the eviction process. However, this is only the first step toward that end goal.
What: This notice tells your tenant that they are 7 days behind on the rent, and that they need to pay the back amount, or vacate the property. If the tenant does neither, the eviction process will begin.
- Because of the importance of this notice, there are quite a few things that must be included:
- The tenant’s name
- The address and location of the rental property
- The amount of rent now due
- Your name (landlord)
- Date of service
- Method of service (certified mail with a return receipt, hand delivered with signature, or posted at the premises)
If the tenant does not pay the back rent and/or does not vacate the property, you will need to move forward with the formal eviction process. The next step is to file an eviction document with the court (in the area where the rental property is located).When: This notice should be completed and delivered to the tenant when they become 7 days late on the rent (barring any grace period you may have specified in the lease or rental agreement).
- Sample Maine Lease Agreement
- Maine’s Law Summary
- Further Reading: Move Out & Eviction Articles
Tips and Tricks for Landlords:
Make sure you are completely familiar with the language used in your lease or rental agreement. There may be a grace period specified in the agreement that must expire without the tenant paying rent in order for this notice to be delivered.
You should also understand that if the tenant pays the rent within the 7-day window from the time this notice was delivered, the notice is voice. You will need to wait until the tenant falls behind on rent by 7 days once more to serve them again (starting the process all over again).
Maine State Specific Documents
- Maine 7-Day Demand for Rent: Landlords should use this Notice if Tenants are at least 7 days late with rent. It advises the Tenant that they have 7 days to either pay rent or vacate the property. It’s a necessary first step in the eviction process.
- Maine 7-Day Notice to Vacate: This Notice should be used when Tenants have violated the Lease Agreement and the Lease violation cannot be cured. It’s a necessary first step in the eviction process.
- Maine 30-Day Notice to Terminate Tenancy: This Notice should be used to terminate a tenancy at will.
- Maine Complaint for Forcible Entry & Detainer: After providing Tenants with proper notice, Landlords file this Complaint with their local court to start the eviction process.
Pro Tip: Landlords need a state specific Lease Agreement for every rental unit. But don’t worry, we’ve got state-specific Lease Agreements for all states that are guaranteed to comply with your state’s Lease laws.
#1 Rated Lease Agreement
9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews
Choose one-time or subscription billing
So you know you're complying with state laws
Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!
Edit & print any of our forms with pro access
Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers