Utah 3 Day Notice to Vacate for Nuisance
A 3 Day Notice to Vacate for Nuisance informs the tenants they have 3Days to move out.
Document Last Modified: 5/14/2023
One of the most difficult issues for a landlord to handle is a tenant who is a real problem or even threat to the premises and the neighbors. In the state of Utah, a landlord may issue a Utah 3-Day Notice to Vacate for Nuisance if their tenant is someone who is doing "something that injures health, is indecent, offensive to the senses, or interferes with someone's free use of their premises."
Who: Landlords will issue this document to tenants who are creating a nuisance situation and provide them with three days to vacate or face eviction.
Clearly, that definition is not as specific as many might like, and it cannot be interpreted as simply doing something bad. The tenants who argue often and yell at one another in the front yard from time to time may or may not represent a nuisance. That is why you will want to discuss the use of a Utah 3-Day Notice to Vacate for Nuisance with an attorney.
What: It is also important to be clear about the use of the Utah 3-Day Notice to Vacate for Nuisance because it is a very rigid notification. Unlike many other types of notices that relate to rental agreements, this one does not give the tenant an option to comply or make amends. The notice simply lets them know that they have three calendar days to move out.
If they do not vacate the premises within three days of receiving the notice, they are deemed as unlawfully detaining the premises and can be evicted using the state's standard eviction process.
When: The tenant who receives the notice has three calendar days, not business days, to vacate. They cannot receive this notice if they are not a true nuisance issue. If, for example, they owe months of back rent, you cannot issue them with the 3-Day Notice to Vacate for Nuisance to get them out.
To serve them the notice, you must deliver it personally, or you can use certified mail. You can leave the notice at the premises with a suitably aged person if the tenant is unavailable, or you can affix it in plain sight to the property.
- Utah 3 Day Notice to Comply or Vacate
- Utah 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate
- Utah Rental Lease Agreement
Tips and Tricks for Landlords: There are some legal issues associated with any eviction. You may want to discuss your options with a qualified attorney. Save a bit of time and money by downloading the Utah 3 Day Notice to Vacate for Nuisance here, and having it completed and ready to deliver as soon as you have had any legal questions answered.
Utah State Specific Forms
- Utah 3-Day Notice to Pay or Vacate: This Notice gives Tenants 3 days to either pay unpaid rent or vacate the property. It’s a necessary step in the eviction process.
- Utah 3-Day Notice to Comply or Vacate: This Notice should be used for Lease violations other than nonpayment of rent. It gives renters 3 days to either fix a Lease violation or move out. It’s a necessary first step in the eviction process.
- Utah 3-Day Notice to Vacate for Nuisance: Pursuant to Utah law, a Landlord may issue this Notice if a Tenant is interfering with someone else’s comfortable enjoyment of their home.
Don’t see the form you need? Don’t worry, we’ve got over 400 more!
Pro Tip: Having access to all the forms and notices you need for property management makes Landlording EZ and it ensures you provide Tenants with all necessary notices and forms!
Utah Landlord Tenant Law and RegulationsView Article >
#1 Rated Lease Agreement
9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews
Choose one-time or subscription billing
So you know you're complying with state laws
Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!
Edit & print any of our forms with pro access
Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers