Utah 3 Day Notice to Comply or Vacate
Pro Form: Create a Pro Account to access this form
A 3 Day Notice to Comply or Vacate informs tenants they have 3 Days to either comply with the lease or move out.
Document Last Modified: 5/14/2023
One of the most common reasons that landlords must begin the eviction process against a tenant is because of non-payment of rent. Failure to meet financial obligations outlined in a lease is the biggest reason behind evictions, but many tenants also fail to comply with the rental agreement in other ways too.
This is why the state of Utah uses the Utah 3-Day Notice to Comply or Vacate as a first step in addressing a problem or beginning eviction.
Who: Landlords can use this form to begin the eviction process or to remedy the issue such as non-payment of rent. According to the state, the Utah 3-Day Notice to Comply or Vacate is used when a "tenant has violated a term of the rental agreement that can be corrected."
What: The notice is an opportunity for the renter to get back into compliance with the rental agreement or move out. The tenant must make their decision to comply with the rental contract within three days of receiving their Utah 3 Day Notice to Comply or Vacate, or they must vacate the premises in that same time frame.
If a tenant fails to do either of these things (comply or vacate) within the three days, the state laws see the tenant as unlawfully detaining the premises. Three days after the tenant has formally received the notice, the landlord has the legal right to file a suit against them and begin the eviction process. This might be due to damages or a failure to keep the property clean and in good condition. It could be due to criminal activity going on in the rental property, or it could be that unauthorized parties are living in the premises. Violation of pet policies and other items in a lease may also lead to a notice.
When: Before a landlord can file for a suit to evict, they must notify their tenant using this form. Delivery or service can be done by the landlord personally, using certified mail, by leaving it with a person of suitable age at the premises or by affixing it to the premises. This notice is not valid if used for a tenant who is failing to pay their rent or other financial obligations and is strictly for those who have failed to comply with the agreement.
- Utah 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate
- Utah 3 Day Notice to Vacate for Nuisance
- Eviction Record Timeline
- Utah Rental Agreement
Tips and Tricks for Landlords: If you are a landlord with a tenant who is failing to comply with the terms of the lease or rental agreement, download the Utah 3 Day Notice to Comply or Vacate here, and do what you can to get the situation under control. You may also want to discuss the matter with an attorney if you feel the tenant will not comply or vacate.
Utah State Specific Forms
- Utah 3-Day Notice to Pay or Vacate: This Notice gives Tenants 3 days to either pay unpaid rent or vacate the property. It’s a necessary step in the eviction process.
- Utah 3-Day Notice to Comply or Vacate: This Notice should be used for Lease violations other than nonpayment of rent. It gives renters 3 days to either fix a Lease violation or move out. It’s a necessary first step in the eviction process.
- Utah 3-Day Notice to Vacate for Nuisance: Pursuant to Utah law, a Landlord may issue this Notice if a Tenant is interfering with someone else’s comfortable enjoyment of their home.
Don’t see the form you need? Don’t worry, we’ve got over 400 more!
Pro Tip: Having access to all the forms and notices you need for property management makes Landlording EZ and it ensures you provide Tenants with all necessary notices and forms!
Utah Landlord Tenant Law and RegulationsView Article >