Utah 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate

5 Stars

A 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate informs the tenants to either pay or vacate within 3 days after being served notice.

Document Last Modified: 5/20/2021

Document Features

Editable

Auto-Fill Document

State-Specific

Related Documents


Landlords have financial obligations associated with the properties they lease and/or rent. Unfortunately, they usually depend on the income from the rents on their properties to meet some or all of their financial obligations. This is why it is so challenging when renters fail to uphold their end of the agreement. It is also why the Utah 3-Day Notice to Pay or Vacate is available for landlords to use.

Who: In the state of Utah, a landlord can issue a 3-Day Notice to Pay or Vacate when a renter or tenant has failed to make any agreed-upon payments. While the failure to pay rent is one reason that the Utah 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate, it can also be used when the tenant did not pay their late fees, deposits or other agreed-upon financial obligations.

What: When the landlord issues the Utah 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate, the tenant then has three days to repay the amounts due and bring their lease back into a current status OR they can vacate the premises. Take note that choosing to vacate never frees the tenant from the financial obligations or unpaid fees.

If they do not vacate the premises, or repay what is due, it allows the landlord to begin the eviction process against them. If the landlord issues a Utah 3-Day Notice to Pay or Vacate, and the tenant does leave, both parties can sue for damages, return or deposits and so on.

If the tenant remains after the notice, and does not redeem the lease from forfeiture by failing to pay what is due, the landlord can then obtain a summons from a judge and then file and serve the tenant with a complaint and a summons for eviction.

When: The very first step towards evicting a tenant who is failing to live up to the agreed financial arrangements is to get them the 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate. This provides them with a three-day window of time in which to make some sort of accommodation to the landlord. Naturally, it may not work out, and that initiates the eviction process.

They can pay what is due, move out within those three days (after receiving the notice) or face eviction.

Tips and Tricks for Landlords: If you are a landlord who must pursue a renter for the rental payment or other financial obligations stipulated in the lease, begin by downloading the Utah 3-Day Notice to Pay or Vacate document here. You can complete it with the necessary information, and deliver it to your tenant. Be sure you understand the process fully, and speak with an attorney if you have any questions.

Why ezLandlordForms?

#1 Rated Lease Agreement

9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews

Flexible Billing

Choose one-time or subscription billing

State Assist

So you know you're complying with state laws

Full Support

Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!

Unlimited Access

Edit & print any of our forms with pro access

Satisfaction Guarantee

Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers

FEATURED ON

fox-business-logo CBS-Radio-logo MSNBC-logo CNN-Money-logo Wall-Street-Journal-logo
Call us: 1-877-367-6771
We are available 7 days a week to answer your
questions and to receive your feedback

ezLandlordForms products and services are reviewed and approved by attorneys, accountants, fellow landlords, or industry experts.

ezLandlordForms is not a law firm and our products and services are not a substitute for the advice of an attorney.

Copyright © 2006-2022, ezLandlord, Inc. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | ezLandlordForms Affiliate Program

Version: 1.1516.0