Ohio 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate
This Ohio eviction notice is a 3 Day Notice for non-payment of rent, required before the initiation of eviction proceedings in the state of Ohio.
Document Last Modified: 12/16/2015
Landlords may not file in court to schedule an eviction hearing for non-payment of rent, until after serving this eviction notice and waiting the required three days. It can take weeks or even months between when landlords file for an eviction hearing, and the actual hearing in court, so landlords should serve this Ohio 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent as soon as the rent becomes late.
If the renters still haven't paid the rent by the eviction hearing, landlords must appear in court, or hire an agent to appear in court on their behalf. Assuming the judge rules in the landlord's favor, they must still schedule an actual eviction date, which will add even more weeks or months on to the period between when the tenant last paid rent, and when they must actually vacate the leased premises.
The law favors renters generally, and the eviction process takes months from start to finish. This is why tenant screening is so important: by screening out applicants who have a habit of not paying bills on time (visible on their credit reports), or those without sufficient income to pay both the rent and their debts and other obligations (verify income, check credit reports and rental applications), landlords can avoid 95% of trouble tenants before ever signing a lease agreement with them. Who: Give this to a tenant who is behind on their rent.
What: This is the required written notice with the required text for the state of Ohio, that gives the tenant the opportunity to pay the owed rent or vacate the premises within 3 business days before the commencement of court action.
When: Give this notice after 3 business days have elapsed (not including the day of service or weekends/holidays) from the date the tenant was served with notice; provided the tenant has neither paid nor vacated.
Important: University and college student housing has different rules and regulations.
Ohio's Landlord Tenant Act can be found at: http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5321
PROPERTIES LOCATED IN CLEVELAND, USE THIS FORM INSTEAD: Cleveland 3 Day Notice for Non-Payment
Ohio Landlord Tenant Law and RegulationsView Article >
#1 Rated Lease Agreement
9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews
No Recurring Billing
No automatic charges or monthly billing
So you know you're complying with state laws
Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!
Edit &ump print any of our forms with pro access
Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers