Cleveland 3 Day Notice for Non-Payment
Giving notice is a required first step in the eviction process. In Cleveland, Ohio, a 3 Day Notice is required and must contain specific language as specified under the Ohio Landlord Tenant Revised Code and the laws of the City of Cleveland.
Give this 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Vacate to a tenant who has not paid rent. This is a ‘complaint notice’ and is a legal requirement in launching the eviction process. State law specifies that no landlord may attempt a ‘self-help’ resolution to unpaid rent, that is, physically ejecting a tenant, changing the unit’s locks or turning off the property utilities, or taking other, similar illegal action in an attempt to force a tenant to leave.
This is the required written notice with the required text for the City of Cleveland in the state of Ohio. The 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Vacate gives the tenant the opportunity to pay or vacate the premises within 3 business days or risk having the landlord begin court action against the tenant. The Notice warns tenants that their failure to pay rent or vacate could result in legal steps against them to recover possession, recover rent that is owed, and pursue any other charges that are allowable under law. This notice must be given before a landlord may institute any eviction actions against a tenant, or win any judgments in an eviction case.
This notice may be used any time for non-payment of rent. State law requires landlords to serve this 3 day Notice to Pay Rent or Vacate, and then wait three business days before taking further action. After that, the landlord files a complaint with the Clerk of Courts, which schedules a court date in is set.
Important: University and College Student housing evictions fall under different rules and regulations.
Ohio's Landlord Tenant Act can be found at:Ohio.gov
Cleveland Housing Court FAQs can be found at:Clevelandmunicipalcourt.org