Nebraska 30 Day Notice of Termination
Serve this Nebraska 30 Day Eviction Notice for violations of the rental agreement or non-compliance with Nebraska Revised Statutes Chapter 76, Section 1421.
Document Last Modified: 5/20/2021
The Details: The Nebraska 30 Day Notice of Termination
The Nebraska 30 Day Notice of Termination can be used by landlords that have a tenant who has violated the rental agreement. A tenant that has violated the agreement will be served this notice. Due to the Nebraska Revised Statutes Chapter 76, Section 1421, the tenant must cure the violation within 14 days of receiving the notice or must vacate the property within 30 days.
This notice provides all of the information for a tenant to be informed of the violation and the steps they must take to remedy the situation before legal action is taken.
Landlords that are looking for more information or further assistance can contact The Department of Housing and Community Affairs in Nebraska.
The Eviction Process
- When a landlord follows the proper steps for evicting a tenant and uses only the legal avenues rather than intimidation tactics, then the law will generally side with the landlord. The process is as follows:
- A tenant violates their lease agreement.
- The landlord delivers this 30 Day Notice of Termination.
- The tenant must cure the violation in 14 days or leave the property in 30 days.
- If the tenant does not comply, then the landlord can file a Complaint for Eviction against the tenant.
- A court hearing will be scheduled.
- The landlord and the tenant or proxy representatives must be present for the hearing.
- If the decision is made in favor of the landlord then an eviction date and time will be scheduled with the local sheriff’s office to forcefully remove the tenant from the property.
It is important to note that the tenant will be responsible for paying all of the rent owed, any damages, and court and attorney fees.
For advice about the eviction process from the experts at EZLandlord forms, please visit: Move Out and Eviction
Timing Is Important
Many notices that landlords can give their tenants have one deadline for compliance, which makes this notice especially unique. The landlord must give the notice to the tenant and then first wait the 14-day period to see if the violation will be cured. If this does not happen then the landlord needs to wait the 30 day period from the time the notice was served for the tenant to vacate the property. Only after these deadlines have passed can the landlord file for legal proceedings at the expense of the tenant.
#1 Rated Lease Agreement
9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews
Choose one-time or subscription billing
So you know you're complying with state laws
Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!
Edit & print any of our forms with pro access
Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers