Florida Landlord-Tenant Brochure (Chapter 83 Part II)
Free Form: Create an account to access forms
This brochure was developed by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to answer frequently asked questions regarding landlord/tenant law.
Document Last Modified: 5/10/2023
It is difficult enough to remember the many things on your growing to-do list, let alone to remember the intricacies of Florida Landlord-Tenant law as well. However, it is wise for both landlords and tenants to be familiar with the state Landlord-Tenant laws. These laws govern the landlord-tenant relationship and are designed to give structure to the renting process. These laws are very significant to help both parties understand the procedures involved in renting.
The Florida Landlord-Tenant Law Brochure, developed by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, is a summary of the Florida Residential Tenancies Act. Landlord-Tenant law is provided in each state to establish order and understanding on each party’s responsibilities. This law also provides instruction and enlightens the landlord and tenant on the rental and eviction process. The Florida Landlord Tenant Brochure also includes many tips and guidelines for both the landlord and the tenant to act in accordance with.
This brochure includes information on which agreements are permitted, and the requirements of Florida's law regarding deposits and rent. The Florida Landlord Tenant Brochure also specifies the landlord's responsibilities and the tenant's responsibilities, including maintenance, repairs, right of entry and more. The brochure also explains the ramifications when a landlord fails to meet their obligations.
This informational document assists both parties with eliminating confusion and altercations by listing the specifics about the rental process, and individual responsibilities during tenancy. It includes information and instruction for the owner and renter for before, during, and after the tenancy, such as information regarding the proper handling of security deposits, and the exact requirements to make a claim on that security deposit, at the end of a lease. This brochure is a great addition to the application or New Tenant Packet, and should be issued to the tenant before beginning the Lease term.
Florida State Specific Documents
- Florida Landlord-Tenant Brochure (Chapter 83 Part II): This brochure was developed by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to answer frequently asked questions regarding landlord/tenant law.
- Florida 3-Day Notice to Pay Rent: In FL, a 3-day notice must be served before initiating eviction proceedings.
- Florida 7-Day Notice of Noncompliance: This form is used to give a Tenant 7 days to cure a Lease violation.
- Florida 7-Day Notice to Vacate: This form is used when a Tenant breaks the Lease and there is no option for the Tenant to cure the defect.
- Florida Complaint for Eviction and Damages: If a Tenant does not comply after a 3 and 7-Day Notice, Landlords can use this form to initiate eviction proceedings.
- Florida Notice of Right to Reclaim Abandoned Property (less than $500): This form notifies the tenant that they have abandoned property remaining in the rental unit. This notice is used when the property is valued under $500.
- FL Notice to Reclaim Abandoned Property ($500 or more): This form is used if a former tenant has left personal belongings in the rental unit after vacating. The value of such items is estimated to be $500 or more.
- Florida Notice to Impose a Claim on the Security Deposit: This form must be used whenever Landlords withhold a portion of the Tenant’s security deposit.
Pro Tip: In Florida, Landlords must give Tenants 3 days to pay rent after the rent due date before filing for eviction.