Connecticut Notice to Quit Possession
Before filing a complaint to the courts, the first step of the eviction process is to use this Notice to Quit Possession when your tenant violates the lease.
Document Last Modified: 5/10/2023
Giving notice is the first step in the eviction process. Connecticut law requires landlords who wish to initiate the eviction process to issue this Notice to Quit Possession before filing a complaint with the court.
This form must be downloaded and filled in by the landlord. Copies of the notice must be given to the state marshal or court-accepted officer who will officially serve the notice on the tenant(s). The marshal will charge a fee. The tenants will have a specified number of days to move out. If the tenants fail to meet the deadline, the landlord may proceed with the next step in the eviction process.
The landlord must include the following information in the Notice to Quit Possession:
- The name of every tenant at the property that you wish to evict along with the exact address of the rental property (The court permits the use of ‘Jane Doe’ and John Doe’ for rental unit occupants whose name the landlord doesn’t know.)
- The reason for eviction
- The landlord’s signature
Provide the state marshal or other agent serving the notice with the original notice and enough copies of the notice for every tenant. Keep a copy for your files.
Tenants have 3 days to move out, however, Connecticut law doesn’t count the day tenants are served. Therefore, tenants must receive the notice a day before the clock starts. For instance, if they are served on Jan. 1, they must move no later than midnight on Jan. 4. That means the unit would be vacated by Jan. 5.
IMPORTANT: When the Notice to Quit Possession is used to evict a tenant for nonpayment, the notice may not be served until after some time set by law. In the case of a month-to-month rental agreement, the landlord must wait 10 days after rent is due to serve the Notice to Quit Possession. With a week-to-week rental agreement, the landlord must wait 5 days after the rent is due to serve the notice.
Connecticut provides a guide describing the use of this form and listing each step in the eviction process. It may be viewed HERE
For complete information on Connecticut laws, visit: www.jud.ct.gov
Colorado Rental Forms and Templates
- Colorado Demand for Compliance: This form should be used any time a renter violates the Lease agreement. It can be used when a Tenant fails to pay rent or for other Lease violations. It’s a required first step in the eviction process.
- Colorado Official Notice to Quit: This form should be used if the Lease Agreement has expired or if the Landlord wants the Tenant to move out of the unit for other reasons. It’s a required step before filing for eviction.
- Colorado Instructions for Forcible Entry & Detainer: These instructions are a great resource for Landlords and make it as EZ as possible for Landlords to initiate eviction proceedings.
- Colorado Forcible Entry & Detainer Complaint: This printable complaint may be used to initiate eviction proceedings.
Pro Tip: This form can only be used after the Landlord has provided the Tenant with either a Demand for Compliance or a Notice to Quit and the Tenant has failed to comply with the notice.
Don’t see the form you need? Search our entire Library of over 450 forms!
#1 Rated Lease Agreement
9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews
Choose one-time or subscription billing
So you know you're complying with state laws
Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!
Edit & print any of our forms with pro access
Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers