Colorado Demand for Compliance
Free Form: Create an account to access forms
This Official 3 Day Demand for Compliance is used when a tenant violates a lease or rental agreement in any way; including Non-Payment of Rent.
Document Last Modified: 6/17/2023
Giving notice is the first step in the eviction process. Colorado state law requires landlords to carry out specific notification steps before filing court actions against their tenants.
This Demand for Compliance notice may be used by Colorado landlords who wish to notify their tenants that rent is overdue in violation of an active rental lease agreement, or that the tenant has in some other way violated the agreement. Use this form before taking any other eviction step or filing an eviction court action.
This is the official, Demand for Compliance or Right to Possession form, with Colorado language and formatting, that may be used to address non-payment of rent. It gives the tenant a 3-day timeframe to correct the violation or to vacate the unit. In order to be enforceable, the 3 day period may not end on a weekend or legal holiday. For instance, if the third day falls on a Sunday, the deadline must be extended to the next day, a Monday.
The form must be downloaded and filled in by the landlord before it is either posted (hung up) at the rental unit, or before it is served on the tenant. It must contain the specific lease violation that occurred, and the landlord must date and sign the notice in order for it to serve as a record to be referred to in subsequent steps in the eviction process.
If the completed Demand for Compliance is posted (hung up) at the rental unit, the state law requires the landlord to post it on the front door of the dwelling, or in some other, visible site where the tenant will easily see it. The state recommends that the landlord make a copy of the form before posting or having it served.
Free Colorado court forms are also available at: Courts.state.co.us
Colorado Rental Forms and Templates
- Colorado Demand for Compliance: This form should be used any time a renter violates the Lease agreement. It can be used when a Tenant fails to pay rent or for other Lease violations. It’s a required first step in the eviction process.
- Colorado Official Notice to Quit: This form should be used if the Lease Agreement has expired or if the Landlord wants the Tenant to move out of the unit for other reasons. It’s a required step before filing for eviction.
- Colorado Instructions for Forcible Entry & Detainer: These instructions are a great resource for Landlords and make it as EZ as possible for Landlords to initiate eviction proceedings.
- Colorado Forcible Entry & Detainer Complaint: This printable complaint may be used to initiate eviction proceedings.
Pro Tip: This form can only be used after the Landlord has provided the Tenant with either a Demand for Compliance or a Notice to Quit and the Tenant has failed to comply with the notice.
Don’t see the form you need? Search our entire Library of over 450 forms!
#1 Rated Lease Agreement
9.3 TrustPilot Rating, with 3,384 Reviews
Choose one-time or subscription billing
So you know you're complying with state laws
Phone, live chat, or email... try us now!
Edit & print any of our forms with pro access
Trusted by over 2.3 million landlords & property managers