Wyoming Notice to Quit for Non-Payment of Rent
Pro Form: Create a Pro Account to access this form
This Wyoming Notice to Quit for Non-Payment of Rent gives the tenant three days to pay the rent or face eviction proceedings in court.
Document Last Modified: 5/20/2021
Wyoming state rules for evicting a tenant from a rental property are spelled out under its Forcible Entry and Detainer statutes. These statutes provide court remedies for the landlord who confronts a tenant’s violation - or breach - of a lease agreement. Breaches include nonpayment of rent. Wyoming law requires the landlord who wants to evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent to first give notice.
For nonpayment of rent, use this Wyoming Notice to Quit for Nonpayment of Rent form to let your tenant know that they have breached the lease agreement and to tell them they must move out. (For a lease agreement violation other than nonpayment of rent, use the Wyoming Notice to Quit for Breach of Lease form.) Rent must be at least three days late before the nonpayment notice may be sent to your tenant. The nonpayment notice gives the tenant 3 days to move out of the rental unit.
This notice form must be downloaded and filled out. The tenant name and rental unit address must match the lease. The Notice to Quit for Nonpayment of Rent lists the date by which the tenant must move out or face eviction actions. The notice must be given to the tenant at the rental property or, if they can’t be located at the rental, left at the tenant’s usual place of business or address where he or she is known to live.
If the tenant fails to move out after the 3-day notice deadline has passed, the landlord may file a Forcible Detainer and Entry action. This asks the local court to evict the tenant. The court will then set a hearing date to consider the request.
For additional information on Wyoming state statutes, go to http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/wystatutes/