Giving notice is the first step in the eviction process. In New York, a 3 Day Notice is required .
Who: Give this notice to a tenant who is behind on their rent beyond any applicable grace period.
What: This is the required written notice that gives the tenant the opportunity to pay within 3 business days, before the commencement of court action.
When: Give this to your tenant after 3 business days have elapsed from the date the tenant was served the notice, provided the tenant has not paid.
Please Note: Eviction Notices shall give at least seventy-two hours notice, excluding any period which occurs on a Saturday, Sunday or a public Holiday
Important Landlord/Tenant laws in New York are amongst the most complex in the nation. It is highly recommended that you contact the Rent Stabilization Association (212) 214-9200 or the Small Property Owners of New York (212) 410-4600 for advice on how to proceed. Hiring an attorney is strongly suggested.
Like This Document On Facebook